

County Hall Cardiff CF10 4UW Tel: (029) 2087 2000

Neuadd y Sir Caerdydd CF10 4UW Ffôn: (029) 2087 2000

## AGENDA

Committee LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

Date and Time MONDAY, 12 MARCH 2018, 5.00 PM of Meeting

Venue COMMITTEE ROOM 2 - COUNTY HALL

Membership Councillor Merry (Chair) Councillors Dilwar Ali, Congreve, Driscoll, Lent, Lister and Dianne Rees

#### 1 Apologies for Absence

To receive apologies for absence.

#### 2 Declarations of Interest

To be made at the start of the agenda item in question, in accordance with the Member's Code of Conduct.

**3 Minutes** (*Pages 1 - 2*)

To approve as a correct record the minutes of the meeting held on 15 January 2018.

#### 4 Local Authority School Governor Vacancies (Pages 3 - 4)

#### 5 Exclusion of the Public

Information included in the following item is not for publication by virtue of paragraph 12 of Part 4, Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

#### 6 Nominations to Local Authority Governor Vacancies (Pages 5 - 8)

- a Existing Local Authority Governor Vacancies attached (Pages 9 48)
- **b** Future Local Authority Governor Vacancies attached (*Pages 49 118*)

#### 7 Date of the next meeting

The date of the next meeting of the Local Authority Governor Panel is to be confirmed.

#### Davina Fiore Director Governance & Legal Services Date: Thursday, 8 March 2018 Contact: Mandy Farnham, 02920 872618, mandy.farnham@cardiff.gov.uk

This document is available in Welsh / Mae'r ddogfen hon ar gael yn Gymraeg

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

15 JANUARY 2018

Present: County Councillor Merry(Chairperson) County Councillors Dilwar Ali, Lent, Lister, Dianne Rees and Driscoll

Alan Evans, Cardiff Governors Association

24 : APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

No apologies for absence were received.

25 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following declarations of interest were received in accordance with the Members Code of Conduct:

Councillor Lent Item 6 Referee for an applicant

26 : MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 21 November 2017 were approved by the Committee as a correct record and were signed by the Chairperson, subject to the addition of Alan Evans to the list of the present.

27 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The list of vacancies for Local Authority School Governor Vacancies was received and noted.

28 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED: That the public be excluded for the following item of business as it contained information not for publication by virtue of paragraph 12 of Part 4 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

29 : NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered applications to current vacancies and considered all applications against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED: That the Council is recommended to

(1) Approve the following appointments to current Local Authority School Governing Body vacancies:

SCHOOL	WARD	START	OF	PROPOSED
		VACANCY		APPOINTMENT

This document is available in Welsh / Mae'r ddogfen hon ar gael yn Gymraeg Page 3  $% \left( {\frac{{{\left( {{{\left( {{{\left( {{{\left( {{{}}} \right)}} \right)}} \right)}}}} \right)} \right)$ 

Bryn Deri	Radyr and	03/10/2017	Neil Desmond
Primary School	Morganstown		
Marlborough	Penylan	23/06/2017	Trevor Saadi
Primary School			
Peter Lea	Fairwater	09/12/2017	Philip Bond
Primary School			
Radyr Primary	Radyr and	07/08/2017	Charlotte Robins
School	Morganstown		
Ysgol Glan Morfa	Splott	19/12/2017	Owain Gwyndaf
			Jones
Ysgol Pencae	Llandaff	01/09/2016	Blodwen Lewis

In accordance with the Members Code of Conduct, Councillor Lent declared an interest in the following item as a referee for one of the applicants.

(2) Approve the following appointments to future Local Authority School Governing Bodies:

SCHOOL	WARD	START	OF	PROPOSED
		VACANCY		APPOINTMENT
Adamsdown	Adamsdown	25/03/2018		Cllr Howells
Primary School				
Bryn Celyn	Pentwyn	27/03/2017		Marion Ludgate
Primary School				
Bryn Deri	Radyr and	27/03/2018		Matthew Jones
Primary School	Morganstown			
Greenway	Rumney	21/02/2018		Caroline
Primary School				Derbyshire
Radnor Primary	Canton	27/03/2018		Cllr Elsmore
School				
St Peters RC	Plasnewydd	21/02/2018		Cllr McGarry
Primary School				
St Teilo's CW	Pentwyn	27/03/2018		Phillip Smith
High School				
The Court	Llanishen	27/03/2018		Garry Hunt
School				

#### 30 : DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING

The date of the next meeting is to be confirmed

The meeting terminated at 5.30 pm

# **Local Authority Governor Vacancies**



### Current Vacancies – 2 March 2018

School Name	Area	Number of Vacancies
Bryn Hafod Primary School	Llanrumney	1
Cantonian High School	Fairwater	1
Danescourt Primary School	Llandaff	1
Eastern High	Trowbridge	1
Glan Yr Afon Primary School	Llanrumney	1
Grangetown Nursery School	Grangetown	1
Lansdowne Primary School	Canton	1
Llanishen High School	Llanishen	1
Llysfaen Primary School	Lisvane	1
Meadowlane Primary School	Trowbridge	1
Ninian Park Primary School	Grangetown	1
Pen-Y-Bryn Primary School	Llanrumney	1
Pontprennau Primary School	Pontprennau & Old St Mellons	1
Radyr Primary School	Radyr & Morganstown	1
Rhiwbeina Primary School	Rhiwbina	1
Rumney Primary School	Rumney	1
Springwood Primary School	Pentwyn	1
St Alban's RC Primary School	Splott	1
St Patrick's RC Primary School	Grangetown	1
Trelai Primary School	Caerau	1
Tremorfa Nursery School	Splott	1
Trowbridge Primary School	Trowbridge	1
Willowbrook Primary School	Trowbridge	2
Windsor Clive Primary School	Ely	1
Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Bro Edern	Penylan	1
Ysgol Gymraeg Bro Eirwg	Llanrumney	2
Ysgol Gymraeg Melin Gruffydd	Whitchurch & Tongwynlais	4
Ysgol Gymraeg Nant Caerau	Caerau	1
Ysgol Gymraeg Treganna	Canton	1

School Name	Area	Number of Vacancies
St David's Catholic Sixth Form College	Penylan	1

#### This document is available in Welsh / Mae'r ddogfen hon ar gael yn Gymraeg

#### **Future Vacancies**

School Name	Area	Number of Vacancies
Federation of Coryton Primary School &	Whitchurch &	
Tongwynlais Primary School	Tongwynlais	4
Llanishen High School	Llanishen	1
Moorland Primary School	Splott	1
Ninian Park Primary School	Grangetown	1
Peter Lea Primary School	Fairwater	1
Severn Primary School	Riverside	1
The Hollies School	Pentwyn	1
Ton-Yr-Ywen Primary School	Heath	1
Whitchurch High School	Whitchurch &	1
	Tongwynlais	
Whitchurch Primary School	Whitchurch &	1
	Tongwynlais	
Ysgol Bro Eirwg	Llanrumney	1
Ysgol Mynydd Bychan	Gabalfa	1
Ysgol Y Berllan Deg	Pentwyn	1

# The deadline for applications for both current and future vacancies is 8 March 2018.

Interested in applying for a school that is not listed?

Please contact Ruth Lock in Governor Support Services

(Tel: 02920873760 or E-mail: <u>Governor.Services@cardiff.gov.uk</u>), who will advise you on other vacancies that may be available and your eligibility to apply.

This document is available in Welsh / Mae'r ddogfen hon ar gael yn Gymraeg